Super Easy Zucchini Chocolate Chip Muffins

Hello All! It’s been a while since I published anything, seeing as I’m in Peru. I have been baking a bit though, with some… interesting substitutions. You see, in the small town of Urubamba, sometimes you can’t quite find everything you’re looking for. Which led to me using a brick of hot cocoa chocolate in place of baking chocolate, which I was using as a substitute for cocoa powder in a red velvet cake. It ended up being not bad, I put in less sugar and butter because there was some in the hot cocoa chocolate, and everything worked out ok. But that’s the kind of thing that ends up happening when I bake here.

To the recipe of the day. Zucchini Chocolate Chip muffins. My friend had sent me the recipe, and the ingredients are pretty simple, so I thought I’d give it a go. Turned out pretty well, if I do say so myself, although the gas oven doesn’t quite cook evenly. Still, none of them were burned badly! The original recipe can be found here.

Like I said, pretty simple. Add all the dry ingredients and wet ingredients in separate bowls. Mix them together, fold in the chocolate chips and zucchini, bake, and voila! Muffins. Make sure you grease the pan well if you don’t use cupcake liners.

zucchini muffins (2)

Grated zucchini! The secret to a delicious muffin 🙂

zucchini muffins (7)

This is the chocolate that I chopped up as chips, a local brand owned by nestle. There were peanuts in, which I mostly picked out but I’m afraid some remained. It was about half as expensive as the Hershey bar, though, so definitely worth it.

zucchini muffins (5)

For the lemon juice I used some juice from these tiny limones they have here. I’m not sure if they’re really limes or lemons, or a combination, but they do the trick. Tiny but powerful!

zucchini muffins (10)

Finished batter in the pan! Mmmm so tasty! I can never resist trying the pre-cooked batter.

 

zucchini muffins (14)

The finished product! Mmm Mmm good 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup white sugar (or mix some brown in. Doesn’t really matter)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini
  • 1/2 cup miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips (or just chop up some chocolate you happen to have on hand. A candy bar. Whatever.)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I don’t really like nuts and they’re expensive. totally optional)

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease 12 muffin cups, or line with paper muffin liners.
  2. Combine flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in a bowl. Mix egg, oil, milk, lemon juice, and vanilla extract in another bowl; stir into dry ingredients until just moistened. Fold in zucchini, chocolate chips, and walnuts. Fill prepared muffin cups 2/3 full.
  3. Bake in preheated oven until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, 20 to 25 minutes.Voila! And they’re done. Yay muffins!

Optional: You can also make a yummy streusel topping to make them even tastier. Just combine 1/4 cup flour, 1/8 cup sugar, 1 tablespoon butter, and 1/2 t cinnamon. Cut in the butter with a fork until the butter is in tiny pieces, then after you put the batter in the cupcake pans sprinkle a bit of streusel on top. Yum!

Leave a Reply

